top of page
Search By Tags
No tags yet.

Review: The Girl in the Jitterbug Dress


It's been about a week since I finished the novel and had some time to collect all my thoughts and feelings over it.

I absolutely loved it! Sometimes it takes me awhile to get into a book or some cases I put them down and give up completely after only a chapter or two from them not pulling me into the story, this one did just the opposite. I read on my lunch hours at work and sometimes brought it home with me on weekends to get through another chapter.

I am a big 1930s, 1940s and 1950s fan and anytime I come across a book in these decades I take the plunge and have the author whisk me away to a bygone era.

This novel was such a pleasure to read, Tam Francis, the author made it so easy for the reader to envision everything from the dance halls, the clothing the characters wore to the raw emotions. I have never once read a book where it made me want to look up dance lessons in my area, because of the way she wrote about the character's experience while dancing.

This novel is full of emotions and takes you for quite the ride. I saw myself in June sometimes, throughout the novel struggling with her own fears, putting herself out in a big scary world she doesn't know much of but sticks with it and experiences so much that fills her life and makes her the woman she becomes by the end of the novel.

Violet and Chas' love story will pull you in, make your heart ache then have you begging for more. Tam Francis will whisk you away to the 1940s and have you live the struggles and triumphs of the two love birds.

Other characters of the novel will have you adoring them, rolling your eyes at others and cheering others on. Each chapter is titled after a song from each decade, the 1940s vs. 1990s, I caught myself putting the book down to look up a song and getting songs I already knew stuck in my head as I started the chapter.

Tam Francis has done her research on all parts in her novel, from slangs, clothing, songs, sewing, cocktails and the Navy as her husband serves in the US Navy.

So I encourage you to step back into time and throw youself back and forth from the 1940s and 1990s and buy this book,. If you're anything like me the book is available in paperback from amazon and for all you readers holding your kindle she has it available for download as well.

She is also in the works of getting the sequel edited and printed so stay tuned for the 2nd novel to The Girl in the Jitterbug Dress and my review.

Go to the links below to purchase and give her a visit on her blog:

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Follow Us
  • Facebook Clean
  • Instagram Clean
  • RSS Clean
bottom of page