top of page
Search By Tags
No tags yet.

1929 Series

Why am I just writing about this novel series now?

I don't have an answer sadly!

I came across the 1929 Series by M.L. Gardner last fall and asked my husband for the first book for Christmas. I was hooked within a few pages, I could vividly picture the characters, I saw the hard times and excitedly turned the pages wanting more.

The first novel starts on the day of the famous "Black Tuesday" in 1929, stock market crashes, people lose fortunes, some lose their jobs and others take their own lives. We follow three couples who went from riches to now rags, scrounging for work and for a roof to put over their heads.

Just when you think, alright, they got this, something would pull the rug from under them but they would get back up and keep going no matter how scary or hard the day would be.

I laughed along with them, rolled my eyes at some of them, I was scared and angered. I wanted them all to be okay, I wanted them to find happiness again.

I brought this book everywhere with me, to work and read on my lunches and back home during the holidays and weekends.

When I was almost done and saw the end of the novel was approaching rapidly, I got back on Amazon.com and ordered the 2nd book of the series. I wanted to order more but the rest of the series was only in kindle form.

I got the nerve up to look on the author's website and found her email. I emailed her telling her my love for her series and being an old fashioned girl like herself prefer a hard copy in my hands.

To my surprise and went "total fan girl" when I got my answer in an email! She was so happy and kind and said I was the little "push" she needed to get the 3rd book into print. Since then we have been keeping in contact through her author Facebook page and kindly asked when the 4th book would be out *just finishes 3rd book and closes it slowly*.

So now I am "patiently" *ha!* waiting for the next to come out and in the meantime will be pulling out other books I have on my shelf ready to be read.

I don't want to go into too much detail of the series, first because it's been awhile since I had read the first two books of the series and two, I don't want to spoil it for anyone.

Have you seen M.L. Gardner's books? I encourage you to look her up on Amazon (Click on the image below) and also follow her website and blog: https://www.mlgardnerbooks.com/

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Follow Us
  • Facebook Clean
  • Instagram Clean
  • RSS Clean
bottom of page