top of page
Search By Tags
No tags yet.

Therapy In A Cup


I don't know about you but when I sit down with a fresh cup of tea I get this sudden feeling of being relaxed wash over me, telling me I'll be alright, telling me to take a breather, take a minute just for me.

When I'm sick I sit with the hot mug in my hands, the steam coming off my green tea dancing on my face. It warms me from the inside out and gets me ready to conquer the day with this stubborn cold.

When I sit down for tea with close friends we open up about our bad week at work, the cold we have been fighting off, laugh together or even at each other and get caught up in each other's lives.

Working in an office all week in front of a computer and speaking to disgruntled clients can take a toll. Nothing like a cup of tea in the afternoon to let me take a minute or 2 to collect my thoughts and tell myself 5 o'clock is not too far away now. I usually have a few cups of green tea throughout the day but my "Victory Cup" is either Earl Grey or my new favorite Lady Earl. I treat it as a reward to myself for not throwing myself out the window or telling a rude client exactly what I think of them.

Funny how tea can have this power over you don't you think?

I think back and remember as a child that no matter where we were working on the farm or at home, in the flower garden, fixing fence posts or in the woods when 3PM rolled around it was tea time at my Grandparents'. We'd sit at the small kitchen table together and the adults would have tea while I would have milk and we'd all snack on some crackers. I enjoyed this time, everyone always seemed relaxed, happy to talk about anything and everything. Never a raised voice, never an argument, it was also never rushed but enjoyed. There was no rush to get back outside to work, never checking on the clock on the wall, when it was time to get going then it was time.

I wish my Grandparents were still around so I could finally sit and have tea with them as an adult. To this day I can close my eyes and see their kitchen, the red Barker tile, the bright turquoise chairs, the kitchen table with the shiny metal edging, that kitchen and the memories I have in it make me smile.

And it's about that time for me to get a cup of Lady Earl to enjoy as I watch the clock tick by to 5 o'clock.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Follow Us
  • Facebook Clean
  • Instagram Clean
  • RSS Clean
bottom of page