top of page
Search By Tags
No tags yet.

An Interview with author Tam Francis


I had the pleasure of opening my Facebook "inbox" and seeing a message from Tam Francis, author of The Girl in the Jitterbug Dress, asking if I would like to read her book and perhaps share it with my readers here and followers on my Facebook sewing page. After looking into her book and her blog I couldn't say no!

I loved the idea but also offered to do a read along, I've always wanted to join a book club and I think this is the perfect time to start one.

I plan on starting the "Book Club" August 1st so please stay tuned. I know a lot of people are on or going on vacation so I figure August might be the best time to get this going.

If you would like to join in on the read along you can find the links to purchase the book at the end of this interview. Also make sure to follow her blog too!

http://www.girlinthejitterbugdress.com/

Before we get into the read along I wanted to introduce you to the author, Tam Francis, where we got to have a little interview.

A little background, where are you from, living now, spouse, kids, pets, etc?

Born in Erie, PA to an Army dad and a stay-home mom, I grew up all over the U.S. I met my hubby in Phoenix, AZ. Ironically, he joined the Navy and got stationed in San Diego, and I ended up an military wife. Not in a million years would I have guess I'd be a military mom.

In between my husband deployments to the Middle East, I had my two children in San Diego. One beautiful girl and one handsome boy. Perfect atomic family. When they were little I used to sew matching vintage outfits, so when we were out together people knew they were mine. Plus, I love to sew vintage. They're now teens, but they have both developed a love for vintage and a unique, expressive fashion.

I have a Scottie dog named Maisie who is the raddest, coolest, Scottish lass ever, two cats, and seven backyard chickens.

What is your favorite vintage piece, this can be clothing, jewelry, home decor, etc.?

It's hard to pick just one. How 'bout three? I have a cool bakelite Scottie dog pin and a beautiful fawn pin that I wear more than anything. But I have this navy blue, rayon 40s dress with green and white postage stamp-looking designs that is the best. It fit me for so long when I was pregnant and still fits as I go up and down the scale. The way it wraps around my legs when I jitterbug is to die for!

If money was no object, what vintage item would you buy?

There are a few things I do not own in my wardrobe: a classic, beaded 1920s flapper dress, a 1950s/60s Enchantment Under the Sea (ala Back to the Future) Prom dress, and a genuine vintage armadillo handbag--I do live in Texas, now.

What is your dream car?

I really like the look and lines of Piece Arrows, not to mention the gorgeous ads for those cars. Also, any car in the movie, Bringing Up Baby with Cary Grant and Katherine Hepburn. Oh, and the Ford Mercuries from the 40s.

What got you into vintage?

I used to watch old movies on the TV when I was young. I loved Fred Astaire and Ginger Rogers, but took a real liking to what I called Doris Day dresses--50s dresses with shelf busts and full skirts. I would shop for them in thrift shops and wore them all through high school.

Your go-to retro or vintage look, what does it consist of?

Usually 40's 50s bobby-soxer--skirt with sweater or top, pin on breast or lapel, saddle shoes or wedgies for day.

For evening, 30s, 40s glam with a rayon dress, although I will depart to late 50s, early 60s for a super glamorous taffeta dress for non-dancing dinners and parties.

For ladies getting into the love of vintage, what item or items would you suggest purchasing to start their collection?

50s shirtwaists dresses are still easy to find and work in any situation. Also, at least one 40s rayon with an a-line cut--its one of the most figure-flattering dresses out there.

Is there a certain shop or online store you like to shop at?

I'm a huge thrift shopper and yard-sailor. I love to find the un-expected treasure. I do love Etsy and eBay and still find the online sites a great resource, but I have to say, I love the hunt and thrill of finding something at a local church sale or antique shop.

When out and about shopping, what are you on the hunt for? Is there something you always have in the back of your mind you want to find?

Something that fits. LOL. Seriously, I'm always looking for vintage that transcends no matter what era it's from. It has to exude an almost timeless, yet classy look that can work when I substitute teach, do a book signing, jitterbug the night away, or approach a school board or town hall meeting.

Anything you collect?

Besides books. hee hee hee. My hubby and I have recently started collecting Maxfield Parish and Atkinson Fox prints. Also, just about anything Scottie dog related. And purses. Yup, I can never have enough vintage purses.

Where is your next dream vacation?

My mom recently passed away and last summer we went to a few countries in Europe with the small life-insurance money. I would like to re-visit the UK and spend more quality time in some of the smaller villages and get a better feel for life in England, Ireland, Scotland, and Whales. What I saw, I loved and would like to experience more.

Do you go out dancing, vintage sales, festivals, group meetups?

Lots of dancing, whenever I can drag hubby out, but I also now take my teenage daughter and her friends. I've been to a few vintage Expos that were mind blowing. One on the Queen Mary ship in Long Beach, CA, stands out as one of the coolest Vintage Expos I've ever been to.

What is your pet peeve?

It sound cliche, but rude people. People who park in handicap spaces without a placard. People who tie their dogs up in their un-fenced yard (fence the yard for the poor puppy). People who try to convince you that their way of seeing the world is the correct way, and if you think otherwise you're a moron. People who litter.

My son once said, "Mom, we're not litterbugs, we're jitterbugs." Exactly.

Do you live in a big city or small town? Do you get "looks" for dressing or styling vintage? What is your reaction? Any advise?

I've lived in both. In the big city, I've had rude small-minded co-workers ask if I was going to a costume party after work, but the small town I now live in knows me as, "that vintage girl." I love it. I substitute teach, act, and write, so they just think I'm a little kooky, but they like it.

The kids really respond to it, and it gives me an "in" to show them a different slice of life and convey the idea that you don't have to be a conformist. I also try to hep 'em to vintage music, movies, dance, and of course fashion. My advice is to own it. Wear vintage proudly and don't be afraid to be different. I'm almost never seen without at least one flower in my hair.

What made you sit down and start writing this novel?

My husband was out to sea, and I was left at home with very little extra money and two babies. It became my entertainment and sanity saver, not to mention it probably saved my marriage.

Who is your inspiration?

I have eclectic tastes that may or may not be reflected in my own writing, but I love Margaret Atwood, Neil Gaiman, Ray Bradbury, Tracy Chevalier, and of course, Jane Austen.

Introduce us to your book or its main character, what can we expect when we start this read along?

There are two main characters, one in the 1940s and one in the present (well 1990s--at the height of the neo-swing resurgence). We follow both these young women as they come of age, struggle with love, identity, and loss.

The chapters alternate between the two eras. I enjoyed the juxtaposition of the two era's morals, social mores, and expectations of young womanhood.

June, our 1990s gal, has childhood issues she is working through. We follow her from the end of high school to college as she discovers the subculture of vintage fashion and swing dance.

Violet, our 1940s gal and seamstress, is an original jitterbug, dealing with a broken family and a war tearing her away from the only stability--her sailor beau-- she's had in years.

We experience these two young women's lives, through their similar, yet different experiences, ultimately united by that jitterbug dress.

Tam's book can be purchased here on amazon either as an e-book or paperback:

Amazon US: Amazon Canada:

Amazon Canada

Tam and I in the meantime will be having a contest going for a week! The more you share and comment the more chances you have at winning a free copy of the book via ebook (This can be downloaded onto your phone, computer, kindle, etc.)

How to enter:

Comments - The more comments you make on each blog post on either this or Tam's blog the more chances you have at winning. Each comment gives you 1 entry.

Share: Share this blog post on social media

Like: Like Tam's official Facebook page for "The Girl with the Jitterbug Dress" and comment on the contest/blog post she will have up shortly. Please visit Red Rocket Designs as well and give my page a like and comment that you did in the same contest/blog post.

Looking forward to naming a winner and getting this read along going!

*Contest ends July 15th at Midnight EST, winner will be announced Saturday July 16th.

**Anyone caught cheating will be disqualified from this and future contests.

***Winner receives a digital copy of the book "The Girl in the Jitterbug Dress" via email to then download

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Follow Us
  • Facebook Clean
  • Instagram Clean
  • RSS Clean
bottom of page